Modern Royal Enfield review

mean gene

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Dec 21, 2020
Messages
745
Country flag
Ok someone asked for my experience with the modern Royal Enfield's. What's not to like, alloy wheels' great breaks and strong engines. I have two, a 2015 535 Continental GT and a 2020 650 Continental GT.
The 535 was bought used on e-bay, cheap, had a oil leak at the head gasket. Contacted Royal Enfield for parts and service manual. The parts were delivered quickly and a complete shop manual at no charge, every thing you ever wanted to know about the bike was in the manual! Fun Bike handles well. Down side is if the battery is slightly low on voltage the electric starter solenoid won't allow starter to work. Supposedly to protect starter sprag. It does have a kicker. Have heard of some with lifter-valve noise. Would be easy to replace push rods with adjustable push rods from a Harley and adjust valve lash. Mine is fine no need for customizing.

Bought the 650 new, again what's not to like? Three year bumper to bumper warranty with road side assistance. Never used it but nice to have. Alloy rims, great breaks and a very strong engine. Asked dealer if I changed exhaust if it would effect the warranty "No the fuel injection will make adjustments". Exit the cat mufflers in favor of louder reverse cone mufflers. Runs great could be a little rich with the new mufflers. The only thing I have done is change oil and install new spark plugs. Sat all winter and started right up! As an after thought it doesn't have a kicker I miss them especially on a "retro bike". Again I asked royal Enfield for a shop manual and they sent me a complete, every part, wiring, torque specs shop manual. Down side is the dealers. Mine sells several makes and it seems to be lacking in service. At the time there were not many dealers to go to, now I believe there are more. S&S are making big bore kits, Ive worked with them on Harleys, they claim the bottom end is plenty strong and will handle the over size bore, if I recall it is 861cc. Power Commander makes a high performance system controller. The bore and controller gives 60 rear wheel hp stock is around 40.
Again what's not to like?
 

Fast Eddie

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
18,734
Country flag
Two of my regular riding buddies have them and love them. One has discovered that they need looking after if used in winter, his suddenly looks 20 years old!

I still maintain that my T140 is quicker, just as good, and more fun. But I also know who’ll be using the spanners* more... :rolleyes:


(* that’s wrenches to the none English speaking English speakers) !
 
Last edited:

cliffa

VIP MEMBER
Joined
May 26, 2013
Messages
3,136
Country flag
Ok someone asked for my experience with the modern Royal Enfield's. What's not to like, alloy wheels' great breaks and strong engines. I have two, a 2015 535 Continental GT and a 2020 650 Continental GT.
The 535 was bought used on e-bay, cheap, had a oil leak at the head gasket. Contacted Royal Enfield for parts and service manual. The parts were delivered quickly and a complete shop manual at no charge, every thing you ever wanted to know about the bike was in the manual! Fun Bike handles well. Down side is if the battery is slightly low on voltage the electric starter solenoid won't allow starter to work. Supposedly to protect starter sprag. It does have a kicker. Have heard of some with lifter-valve noise. Would be easy to replace push rods with adjustable push rods from a Harley and adjust valve lash. Mine is fine no need for customizing.

Bought the 650 new, again what's not to like? Three year bumper to bumper warranty with road side assistance. Never used it but nice to have. Alloy rims, great breaks and a very strong engine. Asked dealer if I changed exhaust if it would effect the warranty "No the fuel injection will make adjustments". Exit the cat mufflers in favor of louder reverse cone mufflers. Runs great could be a little rich with the new mufflers. The only thing I have done is change oil and install new spark plugs. Sat all winter and started right up! As an after thought it doesn't have a kicker I miss them especially on a "retro bike". Again I asked royal Enfield for a shop manual and they sent me a complete, every part, wiring, torque specs shop manual. Down side is the dealers. Mine sells several makes and it seems to be lacking in service. At the time there were not many dealers to go to, now I believe there are more. S&S are making big bore kits, Ive worked with them on Harleys, they claim the bottom end is plenty strong and will handle the over size bore, if I recall it is 861cc. Power Commander makes a high performance system controller. The bore and controller gives 60 rear wheel hp stock is around 40.
Again what's not to like?
It was me that asked and I thank you Sir. I have a Himalayan which is built like a brick outhouse, so would have no qualms buying another Enfield. I had a very short test ride on an Interceptor last year and was very impressed.
 

Onder

VIP MEMBER
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
3,621
Country flag
One of my stateside mates has the 650 with some extras like the exhaust. Loves it.
I'd go for the big bore. No substitute for cubic inches. Those are Texas sized cc's for
you Anti-Imperialists.
 

mean gene

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Dec 21, 2020
Messages
745
Country flag
If someone donates the big bore kit I will be GLAD to give an in-depth step by step process with real world results, but until then I have enough projects to finish up. Good part is I'm officially retired as of May 5th at 1:00 pm. Should have more time to play!!!!
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2020
Messages
2,998
Country flag
If someone donates the big bore kit I will be GLAD to give an in-depth step by step process with real world results, but until then I have enough projects to finish up. Good part is I'm officially retired as of May 5th at 1:00 pm. Should have more time to play!!!!
Congrats on retirement.... I'm only 88 weeks behind you (not that I'm counting, mind you!!)
 

mean gene

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Dec 21, 2020
Messages
745
Country flag
I'll bet you are years behind as well, I worked beyond my retirement date, so I could "PLAY" Good luck
 

worntorn

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
7,062
I met a fellow riding one of the new Interceptors yesterday. He has put 32,000 kms on it already, no problems. It's a nice looking bike.
I read a review of the new Interceptor this morning. The reviewer put the bike on the scales, full tank of fuel ( only 3.6 US gallons, quite tiny!)
569 lbs! He was a bit shocked as it is a physically small motorcycle.
That is about 100 lbs heavier than a Thruxton 1200R with full tank!
Perhaps Royal Enfield came up against the same thing that Triumph did with their 790/865.
If you keep the price point low, the weight tends to be quite high.
Still, the bike looks like one that will sell well, especially if the reliability is good, which it appears to be.

Glen
 

Fast Eddie

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
18,734
Country flag
That’s 259kg Glen… RE claim 217kg wet…!

That’s two problems, first it’s bloody heavy. Second that’s an outrageous difference between measured and claimed weights…
 

worntorn

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
7,062
We've seen that before haven't we?
All the manufacturers tend to fib at least a few pounds worth. This appears to be a big fib, almost 961 worthy!

Glen
 
Last edited:

Fast Eddie

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Oct 4, 2013
Messages
18,734
Country flag
We've seen that before haven't we?
All the manufacturer's tend to fib at least a few pounds worth. This appears to be a big fib, almost 961 worthy!

Glen
That’s what I thought, I was gonna write ‘did RE employ the weights guy from SGs Norton ?!’
 

worntorn

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
7,062
Correction
The reviewer who claimed the RE was 569 lbs on the scale has added a correction.
He misspoke by 100 lbs.
The actual measured weight was 469 lbs, in keeping with RE claims
And not a bad weight at all

Glen
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2014
Messages
137
Country flag



We reviewed the Interceptor on my mate's YouTube channel a couple of months ago. I had also ridden a mate's a year or so ago while out on my Commando. Without exception we all really liked it, you can see part 1 here, part 2 where we just chew the fat about it is also on the channel. I personally rate it way nicer than the first generation hinckley twins.
 

mean gene

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Dec 21, 2020
Messages
745
Country flag
Watch for Royal Enfield's Anniversary Model. 120 limited edition Sold out in India the first hour!!
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2014
Messages
1,822
Country flag
Folks are totally game on, waay ahead & make everyone else look stupid
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
66
Country flag
Top