Engraved gearbox inspection cap

Status
Not open for further replies.

acadian

VIP MEMBER
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
1,291
Country flag
Saw this little item on a bike down in Chicago, it was a standard gearbox inspection cap with the Norton logo engraved into it. Anyone know where I can find one?
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
738
Old Britts 06-5517/C (google it, it's easier to find that way), I just spoke with Ella about 3 of these (all different) yesterday and they are out of stock until "sometime this Fall", call or email Fred and Ella and maybe they will get restocked sooner.\

Her email to me:
We don’t have any in stock at this time, but we will probably start making more in the fall. I’ll keep this request on file and let you know when they are available. Price is $40 each.
Regards,
Ella Eaton
Old Britts


Unclviny
 

L.A.B.

Moderator
VIP MEMBER
Joined
Nov 20, 2004
Messages
18,489
Country flag
RGM Motors: http://www.rgmmotors.co.uk/home.htm

Engraved gearbox inspection cap


196 VP298 GEARBOX INSPECTION COVER "NORTON" CAST IN TO SUIT COMMANDO
£ 8.69

There are "Dominator" versions about, and they will also fit a Commando, but the screw hole positions are different on Dominator covers, which angles the logo around 30-40 degrees off horizontal if one is fitted to a Commando.

Engraved gearbox inspection cap
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,926
Country flag
I don't know - for my taste it seems like one too many "Norton"s on the bike. Heck it should say "AMC" anyway! :)
 
Joined
May 15, 2010
Messages
9
Can't have too many Norton's on the bike , but perhaps the gearbox owes more to Sturmey Archer than any other company ,but it is universally known as an AMC box . I really like the little lid but at US $30 it should be a gold alloy , I'll keep my eyes open at the swap meets
Cheers Steve
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
738
The Cast ones are widely available, the OB Machined and engraved ones look a LOT better IMO.

Unclviny
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
546
Country flag
I've got two of these logo covers, one that came on the gearbox and the other I bought brand new. Both look crap as the casting of the logo is rough as.....! Im thinking of making my own stainless cover. Unclivy, whats the OB version?
Some of you guys use abreviations that are not understood every where on this planet.
Foxy
 
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
738
They would need fins to make it run cooler :D , these are just "Bling"
Please try to keep up with the rest of the class.

Unclviny
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
160
Country flag
Hi ,
I took my engraved cover off my 750 as there was not a breather hole in it.
I was watching the Mick hemmings Norton gearbox rebuild DVD & he said some commandos are better off with the breather hole in the cover. If you have a small drill bit it might be advisable drilling a breather hole yourself.
I have to say I think they look good.
The Mick Hemmings Gearbox & Engine Rebuild DVD's are really useful if your rebuilding a commando or doing repairs.
Cheers Don
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2009
Messages
546
Country flag
Thanks Chris for clearing that up for me. If I was to drill a breather hole in the cover, I think I'd put it at about 8 oclock on the bottom to try and keep rain and wash water out, just a thought?
Foxy
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
48
Foxy said:
Thanks Chris for clearing that up for me. If I was to drill a breather hole in the cover, I think I'd put it at about 8 oclock on the bottom to try and keep rain and wash water out, just a thought?
Foxy

I'm with you. It's a lot dryer that time of day!!! :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top