1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

961 California review

Discussion in 'Norton Motorcycles (Modern)' started by 2cups, Sep 14, 2018.

  1. 2cups

    2cups

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    Motor Cycle News-MCN (online) has just shown their review of the 961 California, quite a honest and good review which may encourage Norton to sharpen up their act
     
    Tags:
  2. Britfan60

    Britfan60 VIP MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Not having an MKII, I can only say I do quite a bit better than 120mph top end. Personal best, 128 with room to spare. I agree with the limited ground clearance. Fit and finish is superb. Reliability could be better. But that's my first generation bike.
     
  3. BritTwit

    BritTwit

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
  4. MxMartin

    MxMartin

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    That wasn't a review... not even sure if the writer had even seen a 961, written on the back of a matchbox in a Fleet Street pub no doubt.
     
  5. 2cups

    2cups

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2018
    He seems to have summed it up quite well to me and I don't see what he would gain by lying about owning a 961 in a national publication, of course you could be right but MCN has always seemed to be OK o_O
     
  6. Britfan60

    Britfan60 VIP MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    No offense fellas across the pond, but you guys are always so polite when it comes to reviews. Everything is always so lovely and wonderful even if you throw in the occasional gripe. Are there any hardcore gruffy Australian publications that spit and curse and tell us what it's all about??:mad::eek: I thought that was a fairly well written piece but it seem more he was gathering info over time rather than really putting the bike through the paces himself.
     
  7. TonyA

    TonyA VIP MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Not a good review , I mean they were not overly impressed with it. Frankly The 961 deserves to be more refined . But I don't think we will every see the day .
     
  8. MxMartin

    MxMartin

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    I didn't say he was lying, I simply said it was not a review. I don't think a few hastily written paragraphs constitute a revue, certainly not what you would call in-depth after putting several thousand miles on the bike over a season of riding. He didn't quote any more or less than the myriad of other 961 reviews out there. Once upon a time you could rely on the British press to get down and dirty but those days are long gone, they can't afford to upset anyone and lose one penny of their diminishing advertising revenue! Bike magazine of the 70's used to get hold of a fleet of new H-D's and ride them from London to Moscow and back.... and then write the review :)
     
    Britfan60 likes this.
  9. BritTwit

    BritTwit

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    I think some are expecting an in depth road test here.
    MCN called it a review.
    To me that involves a simple examination of the bike an its qualities.

    Most publications don't consider the 961 a serious choice for the average motorcyclist, so they are not inclined to do an extensive test of the bike anyway.
    If they saw the 961 as a mainstream machine, they would do a month long test and evaluation of overall reliability, as they do for BMW, Honda, etc.

    A review is a quickie summation of the reviewers impressions.

    It's likely that we are more apt to get a far more involved review/test for the 961 from a classic motorcycle publication instead.
     
    thesixthelephant likes this.
  10. Eljahara

    Eljahara VIP MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2018
    I am with Mark on this, there was not a lot of substance to the article and much of it was simply repeated in other sections.
    BritTwit is also right, these are low volume niche bikes and therefore the press won’t spend too much time on them.
    In contrast, Bike magazine devoted half of a recent issue to the Triumph brand - “all bikes tested and reviewed” - and and least one triumph appears in each issued this publication -which also owns MCN!
     
  11. Raphi

    Raphi

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    I am not very sure if the statement in the review that MkII is so much better than MkI is really true. At least not after having sorted some issues...
    I have a MkI year 2012 CR and at that time they were delivered with Omex ECU and Bosch ignition coils as well. Major issue was high oil consumption of engine which had to be sorted by Egli (honing and oversize pistons were mounted). Today I am very happy with the engine and overall with character of the bike. Only issue now is that I have periodically to refill tranny oil (about 3 dl every 600 miles). I can live with this but may be can sort that as well one day...
    On the other hand I read as well of issues from owners of MkII bikes.
     
  12. BritTwit

    BritTwit

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Raphi,

    Is the oil from your gearbox migrating into the engine through a bad seal?
    Do you notice a rise in the engine oil level?
     
  13. Raphi

    Raphi

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    I guess so, but there is no noticeable rise in oil level. May be it just reduces engine oil consumption... The latter is now about 3 dl per 1000 miles.
     
Loading...