Welcome to the Access Norton Forum. Login as a VIP member to remove the advertising banners.


One throttle cable

Classic Norton Commando Motorcycles.

Re: One throttle cable

Postby madass140 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 12:22 pm

Onder, sometimes better to ask than assume..
mylasttriton.jpg[img]mylasttriton.jpg[/img]
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
madass140
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 1696
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: One throttle cable

Postby peter12 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:10 am

Look beautifully made and well thought out, a consideration for a potential winter refreshing!
Need to switch it back to twin carbs first!!

peter12
Posts: 233
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 6:19 am

Re: One throttle cable

Postby madass140 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:40 pm

https://photos.smugmug.com/One-cable-ki ... 0002-S.jpg
Well testing is looking promising, not just by me but one of our members in Canada. The only difference in fitting between him and me was
he used the upper hole in the pulley wheel for the cable end and I used the lower hole, possibly difference in throttles.
Don
mylasttriton.jpg[img]mylasttriton.jpg[/img]
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
madass140
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 1696
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: One throttle cable

Postby madass140 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:10 pm

check for sale section if interested
Don
mylasttriton.jpg[img]mylasttriton.jpg[/img]
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
madass140
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 1696
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: One throttle cable

Postby Fast Eddie » Thu Sep 07, 2017 11:35 am

FWIW... having witnessed the hours of faffing around that my mate did trying to create something similar, but far less robust or elegant, these offerings look like an absolute bloody bargain!
User avatar
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
Fast Eddie
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 3726
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 12:48 am
Location: Oxford, England

Re: One throttle cable

Postby madass140 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:28 pm

hence there is likely to be a price rise in the near future.
mylasttriton.jpg[img]mylasttriton.jpg[/img]
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
madass140
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 1696
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: One throttle cable

Postby NortonMKIIA850 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:45 pm

Can I just ask, as it's not clear to me from the photos, are we seeing two ferrules there that screw into the carb tops to replace the cable adjusters? It's the only thing I can't make out, cheers!
User avatar

NortonMKIIA850
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:51 am
Location: UK

Re: One throttle cable

Postby Brooking 850 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 1:13 pm

Mine just arrived , excellent quality, easy and quick to fit.

This is on my race bike and as the head is on the bench , test fitting was easy.
I have a 1/4 turn quick action Motion Pro throttle twist grip on clip ons for the race bike, I had to clip off the nipple off the supplied cable , cut down the outer Bowden cable to give me more free length of inner, then solder on another nipple back on.
Not something others will need to do for a Commando twist grip.
Syncing the carbs will never be easier .

Great stuff
Regards Mike
User avatar
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
Brooking 850
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 1122
View Photo Album - Images: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:22 pm
Location: Bay of Plenty , Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: One throttle cable

Postby acadian » Thu Sep 07, 2017 1:54 pm

Got the kit installed yesterday and had a chance to take the bike on a test ride. So far the report is very positive, no matter how meticulous I was with synching the twin cable setup, I would still get a tiny hint of hesitation on acceleration (owing to a slight mis match in the slides) I don’t think you can get around it with the twin cable set up as there’s too many points in the system where the cables can mis-align. Anyway, with Don's kit I got none of that, bike pulled smoothly with no hesitation, idle easy to adjust with the thumb screw, thumbs up all around :D

Installation is straightforward (just follow Don's instructions), though I did end up using the upper nipple hole on the pulley instead of the lower, I found that using lower (with my twistgrip) didn't allow enough cable slack for the slides to bottom out in the carbs. Once it was all set up with the carbs leveled to the plate, and the carb tops secured down, I synched the slide pull between the carbs using the 7mm adjuster bolts at the top of the slide cables. The preliminary synching is all it needs, after that it's just a matter of fine tuning the idle. I used the two adjuster bolts on the arm where the throttle cable is secured to get it close, then the idle thumb screw for final adjustment, this allowed me to maintain some slop in the twistgrip. Using the upper hole in the pulley did mean that I had to trim about 1/4" off the threaded end of the throttle cable where it secures to the arm, otherwise it would slightly contact the pulley. Also, in my case the main wiring harness interfered with the plate, so I had to spend some time rerouting it around the frame tube.


Kit as supplied
Image

Slides assembled
Image

Leveling loosened carbs with plate
Image

Caps secured, carbs re-tightened to manifolds
Image

Throttle cable attached to pulley, this is where I had to trim the threaded cable end
Image

Synching slides with two 4mm allen keys (using 7mm bolts at cable tops)
Image

Balance tube reinstalled (bends a bit around plate)
Image

Handy tools to have: angle driver for inner cap screws, hook to pull needle into jet when installing slides
Image
User avatar

acadian
Posts: 469
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:52 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: One throttle cable

Postby cjandme » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:11 pm

Sweet! That does indeed look worth while. Madass140 you're maniac, what else do you have cookin' on the back burner??
Norton Fan by Bro w/'75MKIII
User avatar

cjandme
Posts: 1660
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:27 pm
Location: Misawa, Japan

Re: One throttle cable

Postby madass140 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:34 pm

well CJ. soon after machining is done I have to start assembling another 100 sets of Lansdownes as there is only about 4 sets left, that will be
late in the year, I want to continue working on my own new bike project which has a lot of one off innovative stuff and will get a lot of you thinking.
Don
mylasttriton.jpg[img]mylasttriton.jpg[/img]
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
madass140
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 1696
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: One throttle cable

Postby Brooking 850 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 1:40 am

They also fit the alcohol Amals I have on the 650 SS.
Regards Mike
User avatar
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
Brooking 850
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 1122
View Photo Album - Images: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:22 pm
Location: Bay of Plenty , Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: One throttle cable

Postby robs ss » Fri Sep 08, 2017 3:15 am

I wish there was something like this for monoblocs - hint, hint Don!
Cheers
Rob
1962 Norton ES2
1964 Norton 650SS
User avatar
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
robs ss
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:17 am
Location: Boyne Island, Queensland, Australia

Re: One throttle cable

Postby Dommie Nator » Sat Sep 09, 2017 12:59 am

Well, I've just ordered a set. Only a few days ago I was seriously thinking of getting a single carb manifold and airbox plate with the single hole.
1958 99 Manx Style Café Racer
1972 Commando Roadster
User avatar
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
Dommie Nator
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 119
View Photo Album - Images: 12
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:42 pm
Location: Warwickshire, England

Re: One throttle cable

Postby cjandme » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:33 pm

Dommie Nator wrote:Well, I've just ordered a set. Only a few days ago I was seriously thinking of getting a single carb manifold and airbox plate with the single hole.

When I got my MKIII back in 2010 (barn find- together, not a basket case, but not run in many many years.) I bought a single carb and manifold set up from JSMotorsports. Excellent kit that Jim used to sell and it helped me to get my bike running. However with the new premiers on the market I'm thinking of going this route. Ya gotta admit Amals just look right on a Nort. Now,mine is bone stock mind you and no hot rod, so either will work for me with my state of tune etc...
Norton Fan by Bro w/'75MKIII
User avatar

cjandme
Posts: 1660
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:27 pm
Location: Misawa, Japan

PreviousNext

Return to Norton Commando Classic Motorcycles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 84ok, Bing [Bot] and 4 guests