Welcome to the Access Norton Forum. Login as a VIP member to remove the advertising banners.


Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Norton Models (not Commando or P11)

Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby norton_rider » Wed Mar 15, 2017 2:38 pm

Hi everyone got amal 930 twin concentrics on my 650ss had a cable of rgm that was no good one of norvil,

Issue is with the cable fitted there is no free play and it's lifting the throttle slides about 1/4 inch of the stop screws with everything set to minimum

Brand new Doherty twist grip of Andover Norton the cables I've got both measure up from junction box to grip 80 mm of wire
Not measured the other bits as they are still on the carbs

Anyone had any success getting twin carb concentric cables ? For the 650ss or atlas

Got Vincent style flat bars on

Super appreciate any advice I'd make my own but really just want to get something of the shelf time wise as i need to use it to go to work on

Cheers
award winning pro photographer
norton 650ss 1966, triumph 675 race bike

norton_rider
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:06 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby Rohan » Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:48 pm

Cables not quite being the correct length seems to be an almost perennial problem.

If the cable is plenty long enough overall, I have resorted to slipping the nipple off the plastic coating,
and snipping off 2 or 3 turns of the spring outer underneath.
This requires a strong pair of wire snippers, and some fairly deft cutting so as not to mung up the whole thing.

While this is obviously not quite as good as finding the correct length cables,
it goes a long way to correcting cables that are not quite right.
Cables that are overall too short probably need to go back to the maker,
although we appreciate this isn't always well received, or economically viable....
Good Luck !

Rohan
Posts: 8068
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby dave M » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:31 pm

If you have a Dremel Cutter you can quite neatly shorten the outer cable and slip the chrome ferule back over the shortened part.

dave M
Posts: 1520
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:10 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby L.A.B. » Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:18 am

dave M wrote:If you have a Dremel Cutter



Or a junior hacksaw if you don't.

http://www.toolstation.com/shop/Hand+To ... saw/p30695
User avatar
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
L.A.B.
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 12012
View Photo Album - Images: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 3:41 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby norton_rider » Thu Mar 16, 2017 8:25 am

Think Ive got a set Ill update with the measurements if they work :) look a lot better size wise
award winning pro photographer
norton 650ss 1966, triumph 675 race bike

norton_rider
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 6:06 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby Madnorton » Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:14 pm

Why not use the twist grip you have, commando single cable, junction box and the two throttle cables and bingo! you will have free play.

Madnorton
Posts: 560
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 10:41 am

Re: Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby gtsun » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:11 am

Last year I bought a set for dual Amals to a junction & a single throttle. They were from a highly respectable distributor but seem cheap. They just don't seem to run smoothly to me. I was thinking of making my own because her friend has all the materials and makes really good ones for larger bikes but I'd rather not have to go through all the trouble. Are there some that are a better quality than others and who makes the best ones?
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
gtsun
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 1582
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:58 am
Location: Fullerton, CA. USA.

Re: Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby djsktr » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:14 pm

I have a similar issue. New cables and twist grip. There is just a little bit too much play in the throttle and the cable adjuster is all the out. If I back the adjusters out on the top of the carbs will this take the play out of the twist grip?
69 750 Commando Chopper
72 750 Commando Project

djsktr
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: Summerville, SC

Re: Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby gtsun » Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:08 am

No djsktr it won't, not if you have a two into one splitter going to a single throttle cable. The adjusters on top of the carbs are for adjusting the slides. You might be able to change the feral at the throttle though for one that takes up more slack.
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
gtsun
VIP MEMBER
Posts: 1582
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:58 am
Location: Fullerton, CA. USA.

Re: Having a nightmare concentric throttle cable

Postby worntorn » Sat Apr 01, 2017 7:26 am

gtsun wrote:Last year I bought a set for dual Amals to a junction & a single throttle. They were from a highly respectable distributor but seem cheap. They just don't seem to run smoothly to me. I was thinking of making my own because her friend has all the materials and makes really good ones for larger bikes but I'd rather not have to go through all the trouble. Are there some that are a better quality than others and who makes the best ones?


Venhills will make custom cables to your drawing. They are a bit spendy but the quality is superb.
They also have stock cables for the Commando and the cost for those is quite low, but the quality is the same as with the custom type.

Finally, they offer DIY kits with one end already in place. You cut the inner and outer to suit, then solder on the second end of choice. The kits are not quite as good as complete Venhills cables as the owner made end is the weak point.

Also, for ease of soldering, the kits use a galvanized steel inner, whereas the complete Venhills made cables have a stainless steel inner. Hard to beat the natural slippery quality of stainless cable inside of a Teflon sheath. It never needs lube and should last indefinitely . Unfortunately stainless requires silver soldering, that is why it isn't used in the DIY kits.

Glen

worntorn
Posts: 3405
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:43 pm
Location: Langley, B.C.


Return to Other Nortons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bernhard and 8 guests