Welcome to the Access Norton Forum. Login as a VIP member to remove the advertising banners.

Comparing prices engine parts, is this for real?

Classic Norton Commando Motorcycles.

Comparing prices engine parts, is this for real?

Postby fiatfan » Sun Jul 09, 2017 12:25 am

So I´ve started looking for parts for my -73 850 engine, to start with, gearbox and transmission will follow. Just a statement: I have no earlier experience from these two suppliers, so this is just a simple matter of comparing prices on their websites. This example is restoring the bottom end, so the parts I´ve looked for are: crankshaft superblend bearings, big end shells, bolts and nuts for the big end, bolts, nuts and locking plates for the crank it self. RGM Norton have a kit with these parts, priced at £ 145 +VAT. Andover Norton doesn´t have a kit, so all parts put together comes in at £ 265 + VAT...... :shock: Pretty close to twice the price of RGM! A simple question: Why?
Tommy
"...and there´s nothing wrong with me, this is how I´m supposed to be..."
Billy Joe Armstrong
Access Norton VIP Paying Member
fiatfan
VIP MEMBER

Re: Comparing prices engine parts, is this for real?

Postby L.A.B. » Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:24 am

AN's conrod bolts are four times the price of RGM's so I don't know if AN has made a mistake with the price?

A lot of RGM's parts (and also those from other Norton parts suppliers, Norvil, etc.) will often be their 'own brand' and not necessarily 'genuine' Andover Norton parts.
That's not suggesting RGM's (or others) parts are inferior or substandard (although Joe Seifert of AN might disagree: https://andover-norton.co.uk/en/pirate-parts/) but 'You pays your money, you takes your choice' as the saying goes.
L.A.B.
VIP MEMBER
View Photo Album - Images: 5

Postby Onder » Sun Jul 09, 2017 5:06 am

"You pay your money you take your chances" may be closer to the truth.

Im not saying AN is good others bad at all. Im not because I dont know.

Onder